Needed: Re-focusing

Two things happened today that made me sit down and try to re-focus my efforts. First, I got a phone call from VIPdesk, and was interviewed for their at-home  “Brand Ambassadors” position. After the interview I got the usual,  “We’ll send you an email if you passed…” I  doubt if I’ll get this one 😦

Second, I got a call from Ameriplan, which I saw online and got interested in. The person on the other line was a very nice lady by the name of Shauna Muniz, who coincidentally, is a work-at-home mom like me! We got to talking and ended up with me registering as an Independent Business Owner (IBO).

But let me rewind: Before the call I made my research on the company and found out that they have been in existence for 15 years now. I checked the BBB for complaints and I’m not going to lie and say that they don’t have any. I guess that’s the price of being in business for that long with thousands of IBOs nationwide promoting it. Customers will always complain. Even Walmart, McDonalds and Microsoft have complaints (or even worse, being sued). But does that mean that they are not legitimate or are bad businesses? I would like to try my hands at this business because I believe that it is viable; there is a growing and genuine need for health and dental discount plans as opposed to expensive insurance.

Anyways, as it turned out, I felt so overwhelmed. I’m doing so many things at the same time on top of taking care of my 2 young kids and a kid-minded husband (he he he he love you hon!).

So, I decided to finally sit down and organize my thoughts and efforts:

1. I organized my computer files and internet ‘favorites’; If I had a file for businessideas on ‘My Documents’, I made sure that I also had the same folder name on my ‘favorites’ on Internet Explorer so that they are completely in sync. I categorized and sub-categorized everything: I had documents and favorites folders  for personal, businessideas, businesstools, business_supportagencies, etc.

The second phase was organizing my paper documents. I had to literally scrounge up for a used diaper box (the ones that you get from Sam’s come really big) and  manila folders so that I can throw in the papers in their respective categories.

2. I have been keeping a notebook of all my online activities including the date I purchased a product or registered for anything, the company’s website, the cost-if any, my username and password. Today, I worked on updating the  notebook.

This notebook has been so handy (I don’t need to remember all those passwords!). I also use it to jot down interesting ideas or info that come to mind, or one that I see on TV, hear on the radio or read online.

3. And last but not least, I had to make a blueprint of where I want to be 6 months from now and how to get there. This is what I came up with:

GOALS:

1) make at least $1,000/mo within the end of this year (that’s 6 months from now!)

2) have the flexibility of being able to spend time with my kids whenever

3) have a business/es that I can be passionate about (there’s that buzz word again)

MY INPUTS:

1) Time: 1 hour (am)/2 hrs (pm)/2 hours (evenings) for a total of 5 hrs per day or 35 hrs per week. Looks like a full-time job, huh! But I figured that at this stage, that’s what I need to put in.

2) Costs: (this one I haven’t figured out yet how much I should cap the monthly)

Tomorrow, I will formulate my strategies on how to attain the abovementioned goals…

Leave a Reply

